Meteroloy Scholarships Recognize the Best

January, 2007

Four Plymouth State University meteorology students received Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarships for this academic year. Daniel Scott Michaud of Madbury, N.H., Katherine Anne Pingree of Coventry, Conn., Jared Rennie of Woburn, Mass., and Melissa Payer of Pepperell, Mass., are among a group of only 101 juniors and seniors nationwide to receive the Hollings scholarship, which includes up to $8,000 in funding each.

The scholarship program is administered by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education on behalf of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The PSU scholarship recipients join colleagues from other well-known institutions of higher learning, including Harvard, Stanford, Texas A&M, and the University of Pennsylvania in achieving this highly-sought recognition.

“This is a well-deserved honor for these students and also for our university,” PSU President Sara Jayne Steen said. “The Judd Gregg Meteorology Institute in Boyd Science Center provides students with some of the finest meteorology facilities in the country and is a great resource for our region.”

The PSU scholarship winners participated in a 10-week summer internship and attended the Hollings Scholarship Program conference. The purpose of the Hollings scholarship is to increase public understanding and recruit and prepare students for public service careers or careers as teachers and educators in oceanic and atmospheric science.

The scholarships are awarded in honor of U.S. Senator Ernest Hollings (D–South Carolina), who championed creation of NOAA during his 36-year tenure in

Congress.—Bruce Lyndes

Comments are closed.