President's Council Receives Silas Pearl Awards

October, 2006

Members of the PSU President’s Council received Silas Pearl Presidential Medallions from outgoing President Donald P. Wharton at an event held in their honor. The award is named for the first principal of Plymouth Normal School and honors lifetime service to Plymouth State.

As leaders of the Expanding Our Reach capital campaign, the President’s Council members brought more than $7.5 million in pledges to the University. “The Plymouth State President’s Council did an outstanding job on the capital campaign,” said President Wharton. “They worked extremely hard, worked together most effectively and were enormously successful.”

Receiving medallions were founding council members Joan Cook ’69, Eugene A. Savage ’58, Michael J. Spinelli Jr. ’68 and Wallace R. Stevens ’62, charter members John L. Daly ’67, R. Steven Eastman ’71, Steve F. Edwards ’86, Carol Flate Gerken ’67, Larry K. Haynes ’86 and Janet Fagnant Learned ’66, as well as William S. Belvin, Peter F. Graham’ 58, Theresa M. Koehler ’91, Sidney R. Lovett, Gordon MacEwan ’75, John W. Manion ’85, William Marston ’54, Roberta Wallace Stearns ’61, Nicholas C. Vailas ’76 and emeritus councilors R.E. Collins and L. Douglas O’Brien.

-Betsy Cheney

Comments are closed.