Plymouth State Educators Honored at 2014 EDies Award Ceremony

June 24th, 2014 by blyndes



Eleven educators with ties to Plymouth State University were honored at the 2014 EDies award ceremony.

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – 11 educators with affiliation to Plymouth State University were honored June 7 at the New Hampshire EDie Awards, which recognize New Hampshire schools and individuals who meet high standards of educational excellence. Esther Asbell, Donna Ciocca, Christina Flanders, ’00, Carl Ladd, ’05CAGS, Judith Lavoie, Joseph Lee, ’06, Bill Marston, ’54,’64G, Pearl Sandy, Thomas Stevens, ’01, Jonas Taub and Barbara Wirth, ’09CAGS, received awards at a ceremony attended by Plymouth State University President Sara Jayne Steen, University Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Julie Bernier and Marianne True, Chair of PSU’s Elementary Education and Childhood Studies Department.

“It is a joy to attend the EDies and see the extraordinary work being done on behalf of New Hampshire’s children,” said Steen. “I’m pleased that Plymouth State educators have a strong role in that excellence.”

Plymouth State alum Bill Marston, ’54,’64G, who has more than 50 years’ experience as a teacher, principal, athletic director and university faculty member, received the Doris Barnes Retired Educator Lifetime Achievement Award. The award states, “He has made significant contributions to improving the quality of education from pre-K through college levels.”

Marston, a Bristol native, is active in Plymouth State’s Alumni Association and is also a member of Plymouth State’s Athletic Hall of Fame for his achievements in basketball and baseball. He formerly served on the USNH Board of Trustees and the PSU President’s Council

Dr. Carl Ladd, ’05CAGS, was named 2013-14 Superintendent of the Year by the New Hampshire School Administrators Association (NHSAA). He is currently superintendent of SAU 58 in Groveton.

Barbara Wirth, ‘09CAGS, received the Business Education Achievement Award, presented by the New Hampshire Business Education Association. Wirth has held numerous business education positions in New Hampshire.

Pearl Sandy and Judith Lavoie received the Dennise Maslakowski Education Award for their work in establishing and maintaining the Reading and Writing Specialist Program at PSU’s College of Graduate Studies. The award is named after the late Dennise Maslakowski, whose extraordinary educational leadership spanned more than three decades at PSU; her name is synonymous with graduate education throughout the state of New Hampshire.

Donna Ciocca was named Reading Teacher of the Year by the Granite State Reading Council. Ciocca, currently teaching at Plymouth State in the Reading Specialist program, formerly taught in the Concord School District. In addition to teaching at the graduate and undergraduate levels at Plymouth State, Ciocca has planned and implemented New Hampshire Literacy Day for the past 8 years in which she has worked to give away nearly 75,000 free books to participating children.

Esther Asbell received the Outstanding Service Award from the New Hampshire School Administrators Association. Asbell, a PSU faculty member in Education, is the assistant superintendent in the Exeter Region School District.

Jonas Taub, a PSU faculty member in Counselor Education and School Psychology, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the New Hampshire Association of School Psychologists.

Christina Flanders, ’00, was awarded the School Psychologist of the Year by the New Hampshire Association of School Psychologists. Flanders has been the Laconia School District school psychologist since June, 2005. She is also a faculty member at Plymouth State University.

Thomas Stevens, ’01, was named the Distinguished Music Educator of the Year by the New Hampshire Music Educators Association. For the past decade, he has served as the band director at Prospect Mountain High School in Alton. He also volunteers as director of the Lakes Region Music Festival and is active in state and national music educators groups.

Joseph Lee ’06, was honored as New Hampshire’s 2014 Teacher of the Year by the New Hampshire Department of Education. The Plymouth State alum is a Social Studies teacher at Pinkerton Academy, currently teaching Cultural Geography. He coaches golf and boy’s hockey and is co-adviser for the China Exchange Program. Lee is the second PSU-educated teacher to be selected as New Hampshire’s Teacher of the Year in the past four years; Angie Miller of Holderness Central School, a 2002 Plymouth State graduate, was selected in 2011.

The EDies originated in 1993 to honor New Hampshire’s best educators.


In the News

Example Image

Three local high schools to compete in 31st season of ‘Granite State Challenge’ on NHPTV

Monitor staff Monday, November 24, 2014 (Published in print: Tuesday, November 25, 2014) Some of the smartest students in the state are gearing up to compete in the 31st season of the Granite State Challenge on New Hampshire Public Television. Students from 16 high schools will participate in the televised competition, including teams from Concord […]

Example Image

Plymouth State students, alumni provide Thanksgiving meals

By DAN SEUFERT Union Leader Correspondent Andy McDonnell, an alumni of Plymouth State University and the Phi Beta Upsilon fraternity, works with Rev. Preston Fuller of the Tilton-Northfield United Methodist Church, who checks off a donations list on his clipboard. (DAN SEUFERT/Union Leader Correspondent) PLYMOUTH — Thanksgiving meals came early to hundreds of low-income and elderly […]

Example Image

Knowledge is power

PLYMOUTH––All that glitters is not gold, and everything you read on the Internet is not true. Finding reliable, factual reference information in today’s high technology world is not easy, but Plymouth State University’s Lamson Library and Learning Commons is showing Rivendell Academy students the best way to ferret out what’s fact from fiction. Twenty-seven juniors […]