PSU Honors Educational Leader Dick Woodward and MBA Graduates at Annual Luncheon

May 1st, 2012 by blyndes


PLYMOUTH, N.H. Plymouth State University’s MBA graduates were recognized with a variety of awards at the Master of Business Administration Certificate and Honors Luncheon May 19.

Dick Woodward, left, accepts the Business Excellence Award from PSU's George Tuthill and Trent Boggess

Dick Woodward, left, accepts the Business Excellence Award from PSU's George Tuthill and Trent Boggess

The guest of honor and featured speaker at the luncheon was Dick Woodward, who has been involved in higher education enrollment management and admissions for 30+ years, having held numerous positions in the collegiate undergraduate and graduate environment. He is currently senior vice president for enrollment management and chief operations officer for Manipal Education Americas, which is the parent organization of the American University of Antigua, College of Medicine, the American International College of Arts and Sciences – Antigua, and the Kasturba Medical College International Center – Manipal, India.

Woodward was awarded the Business Excellence Award; he told graduates that time management skills are critical to success in their professional and personal lives.

“You have to be able to establish priorities and understand what is most important as you look at each day,” Woodward said.

In addition to Woodward, 14 graduates became the newest members of Delta Mu Delta: Kahled Kahled Aqeel, * Timothy Beaulieu, Kristin Bolton, Kathy Chharing, *David Edson, Robert Hayes, Don Ingerson, Todd Kilburn,  Monique Lavertu, Bethany Marier, Amy Nicholas, John Nwankwo *, Kishan Patel *, Purvi Patel *,Matthew Plucinski *, Donald Regan, Loralee Reyes, Cheryl Ruppel, Dane Schlinsky *, Jonathan Thoens * and Thomas Wood. (* denotes American University of Antigua students)

Delta Mu Delta is a national honor society designed to recognize and reward business administration students who have distinguished themselves scholastically. Delta Mu Delta candidates must be in the top 20 percent of their class and have a grade point average of 3.25 or above.

69 graduates received MBA certificates:

Health Care Administration

Kaled Aqeel, Sohail Azeem, Christopher Buelvas, Shanell Burwell, Kathy Chharing, Michelle Ramsay, Asia Filatov, James Fisette, Christine Gagnon, Meghan Hoagland

Linda Ikem, Yelena Isayenko, Arupa Khusial, Lelia Logue, Qylee Ludy, Michaela Martin

Thomas Mell, John Nwankwo, Okechukwu Okonkwo, Priscilla Owusu-Frimpong, Purvi Patel, Kwesi Patterson, Matthew Plucinski, David Plumley,  Monica Ranger, Jasmine Sawhne, Richard Schellens, Dane Schlinsky, Asal Sepassi, Gurleen Sidhu, Alok Singh,

Melissa Suckling, Jenifer Tagliaferro, Jonathan Thoens, Courtney Thomas, Kevin Tin, Frozan Walyzade and Alexander Yun.

 Human Side of Enterprise

Janet Couture, Todd Kilburn, Patrice MacNevin, Kenneth Monahan, Tapiwanashe Nhundu, Sharon Patterson, Cheryl Ruppel and Deanna Toney and Emily Quigley.

International Business

Ralph Estey, Chantalle Forgues, Charles Hoff, Arnold Martin III and Jillian Mulloy.

Investment and Finance

Justin Avery, Michael Freeman, Brian Gallaway, Mark Langlois, Justin Leever and Tricia Thompson.

Organizational Communication

David Edson, Patricia Farmer, Elizabeth Lajoie and Raluca Tarcea.

Small Business and Entrepreneurship

Timothy Beaulieu, Justin Leever, Katelyn Kimball and Samuel Paul.

Strategic Marketing Management

Kristin Bolton, Lori Bundy and Jaime Peyton.

Students also received awards for their work with PSU’s Small Business Institute®, which provides valuable consulting services to small business owners throughout New Hampshire under the leadership of advisor Craig Zamzow.

National SBI Award recipients include:

● First Place, Graduate Comprehensive Project of the Year, 2011

Dartmouth Skiway

Jennifer Johnson, Patrice MacNevin, Judy Stabolepszy.

● First Place, Graduate Specialized Project of the Year, 2011

Mill Fudge Factory

Kristine Klinger, Robert Leda, Noah Munro and Samuel Paul.

SBI Plymouth Award recipients include:

● Best Specialized Project of the Year, 2011-2012

Long Haul Farm

Marc Abear and Teirrah Hussey

● Best Comprehensive Project of the Year, 2011-2012

Narrative 1, Inc.

Timothy Beaulieu and John Scarponi

● Best Business Plan/Feasibility Study, 2011-2012

UNH Cooperative Extension

Darrel Covell and Phillip Davis

The Timothy Sabol Memorial Fund Scholarship winner was Ashley Christian Andersen, who receives a $2,000 scholarship. Andersen, who is from Tampa, Fla., graduated with honors from Saint Leo University, earning a bachelor’s in environmental science with a minor in education. In 2011, she helped establish a family-owned timber business in Florida, planting 5,000 Long Leaf pine trees, a native endangered species. Ashley is currently pursuing her MBA degree at Plymouth State University with focuses in Investment and Finance, and Small Business Entrepreneurship. The scholarship is awarded to deserving MBA students in memory of the late Tim Sabol, who earned his MBA at PSU while suffering a debilitating illness.

The 2012 MBA Luncheon also marks the retirement of SBI Director Craig Zamzow, who has played a key role in the program’s success, including national recognition.

Craig Zamzow

Craig Zamzow


“I have to thank my colleagues at the University and the College of Business Administration for their support,” Zamzow said. “A big part of the success we’ve enjoyed here is because of our students; they’re older than most graduate students and they have work experience which has really helped the program.”

For more information about this release, contact Bruce Lyndes, PSU Media Relations Mgr., (603) 535-2775 or