PSU Honors MBA Graduates at Annual Commencement Luncheon

May 18th, 2013 by blyndes


PLYMOUTH, N.H. Nearly 60 Plymouth State University MBA graduates were recognized with a variety of awards at the Master of Business Administration Certificate and Honors Luncheon May 18, culminating their academic year. The guest of honor and featured speaker at the luncheon was Sharon Beaty, CEO of Mid-State Health Center of Plymouth and Bristol and President of the North Country Accountable Care Organization, which is dedicated to promoting improved care coordination, improving patient outcomes and creating a collaborative environment across healthcare systems in northern New Hampshire. Beaty told graduates that building trust with customers and co-workers is the best way to achieve success.

Sharon Beaty

“It’s going to be the relationships you build that are going to be important to you,” Beaty said. “Those relationships are what will make you a good manager, those relationships are going to build the culture of your organization – they are going to take you where you need to go. It’s about being ethical, trustworthy and honest.”

Following Beaty’s comments, 17 graduates became the newest members of Delta Mu Delta, a national honor society designed to recognize and reward business administration students who have distinguished themselves scholastically.

Marc Abear, Michael Bethune, Christopher Buscema, Matthew Dean, Jennifer DeMoras, Alex Henkel, Jennifer Klemenc, Elizabeth Lajoie, Timothy McNamara, Kenneth Monahan, Christopher Mulcahy, Jane Ndoping, James Reynolds, Jr., Laurie Saia, Deidre Romeo, Jennifer Smith and Valer Suteu.

Delta Mu Delta candidates must be in the top 20 percent of their class and have a grade point average of 3.25 or above.  Plymouth State University has been initiating undergraduate and graduate students as Delta Mu Delta members since 1998.64 graduates received MBA certificates in the following areas:

Health Care Administration

Anand Desai, Andrew Bogart, Bilal Khan, Brian Smoker, Bridget Labrie, Christopher Buscema, Christopher Rhyne, Chukwuemeka Nwajagu, Crystal Nunez, Dominic Draper, Ghazaleh Dastouri, Jane Ndoping, Jason Pavo, Jessica McSheffrey, Jessica Osgood, Joe Chapman, John Gagnon,  John Georgy, John Hatcher, Jude Aurele, Kelly Belcher, Kyle Aman, Matthew McGuire, Melissa Suckling, Michael Chergey, Michaela Martin, Mishelle Vasquez, Nicholas Tiberio, Nilani Clarke, Omotola Oyesile, Raman Krimpuri, Stephen Samuel, William Sweeney Jr. and Yvonne Ukwu. Human Side of EnterpriseChristopher Fenwick, Terri Moore and Francine Ndayisaba.International BusinessBryan Coady, Gerard Grondin and Valer Suteu.Investment and FinanceAaron Goldstein, Ashley Andersen, Brooks McQuade, Bryson Collins, Gerard Grondin, Jennifer M. Smith, Russell Dolan, Ryan Anderson and Valer Suteu.

Organizational Communication

Alex Henkel, Brian Fierley, Lisa Perras and Ryland Kenney.

Small Business and Entrepreneurship

Marc Abear, Phillip Davis and Tierrah Hussey.

Strategic Marketing Management

AnnMarie French, Briana Drugg, Tierrah Hussey, Hanna Luckowski, Leif Masella, Meghan Cary, Rachel Vermeal and Sandra Chioralia.

Students also received awards for their work with PSU’s Small Business Institute®, which has provided valuable consulting services to small business owners throughout New Hampshire for more than 35 years. Plymouth State’s MBA and undergraduate students produce award-winning business plans, marketing plans and reports to help businesses of all types and sizes.  Over the past 15 years, SBI students have earned at least a first or second place finish in each National SBI Project of the Year.

National SBI Award recipients include:

Best Specialized Project of the Year 2012-2013


Ashley Andersen, Kim Beardwood Smith, Samuel Kamau

Best Comprehensive Project of the Year 2012-2013

Tendas & Companhia

Maria Elisa Ala

SBI National Award Recipients

First Place National SBI Graduate Specialized Project of the Year 2012-2013

Long Haul Farm, an organic farm in Holderness with a restaurant and unique entertainment venue. Business plan produced by Mark Abear and Tierrah Hussey.

First Place National SBI Graduate Comprehensive Project of the Year 2012-2013

Narrative1, a software company located in Holderness that provides software systems for commercial appraisers.

Craig Zamzow

Craig Zamzow, who retired this year after two decades overseeing PSU’s SBI program was also honored. Zamzow’s colleagues and students commended his longtime success in guiding the SBI program to winning numerous national awards.Kim Beardwood Smith

Kim Beardwood Smith

The Timothy Sabol Memorial Fund $2,000 Scholarship winner was Kim Beardwood Smith from Holderness.  Kim assists entrepreneurs and small businesses in the area through her work with the Plymouth Regional Chamber of Commerce, the new Enterprise Center at Plymouth, and as a grad assistant with PSU’s Small Business Support Center.  With a background in education, resort sales and advertising, Kim is pursuing her MBA at PSU with a focus on Marketing and Small Business Entrepreneurship. The scholarship is awarded to deserving MBA students in memory of the late Tim Sabol, who earned his MBA at PSU while suffering a debilitating illness.

For more information about this release, contact Bruce Lyndes, PSU Media Relations Mgr., (603) 535-2775 or