PSU Honors Seven with Alumni Recognition Awards

October 19th, 2009 by Adam

Seven Plymouth State graduates have been honored with Alumni Recognition awards for service to the school, community and their professional achievements. The 2009 Alumni Awards were presented Saturday, Oct. 17 at Heritage Commons as part of Homecoming and Family Celebration Weekend.

Here are the award recipients:

Distinguished Alumni Service Award: Larry Haynes 1986

The Distinguished Alumni Service Award, established in 1963, recognizes the graduate who through unselfish devotion and loyalty has served Plymouth State University and/or its alumni organizations. To be eligible, a graduate shall have rendered unusual service in the form of: faithful and continued effort in such areas as maintaining class or other alumni organizations; active participation in alumni or university affairs; and assistance in expanding the usefulness, influence and prestige of the university. Haynes, a member of the President’s Council and the USNH Board of Trustees, said he was surprised at being chosen.

“It’s very humbling to be included in such a prestigious group,” Haynes said. “I’ve always wanted to contribute in a small way, certainly it’s a thrill to be recognized.”

Alumni Achievement Award: Fred Bramante G06

Established in 1978, and modified in 1991, the Alumni Achievement Award recognizes deserving alumni who exemplify the university’s motto “Ut Prosim” (That I May Serve) through active participation in and special contribution to, the activities of the PSU Alumni Association, their chosen professional field, or the improvement of society in general. Bramante, a successful businessman and former state school board chair, has long advocated reforming school systems to include ‘real world learning,’ like involving local businesses in offering mentoring opportunities to students. Bramante said the Alumni award is significant to him.

“It’s a recognition that the work I’ve been putting forward has merit and people are starting to accept it and move in a new direction in improving schools around the country,” said Bramante.

The Ut Prosim Award: Richard Wylie 1963

The Ut Prosim Award, established in 1998, recognizes an alumna or alumnus whose exemplary community service and contributions in business, professional, civic, philanthropic, volunteer or similar activities are worthy of recognition and have brought honor to Plymouth State University and exemplify the University’s motto “Ut Prosim” (That I May Serve). Primary volunteer service shall not be to Plymouth State University, but to the community. Types of service include, but are not limited to:

• Elected office or other civic involvement

• Community improvement programs (Big Brothers/Big Sisters, Girl/Boy Scout leadership, Homelessness Task Force, etc.)

• Service society membership (Lion’s Club, Kiwanis, etc.)

• Leadership in professional organizations.

Wylie is the longtime President of Endicott College in Beverly, Mass., and has served as a professor and administrator at the University of Connecticut, Temple University, the University of Colorado, and Lesley College. He is very involved with community volunteering, sitting on numerous boards including banks, corporations and non-profit agencies. Wylie said giving back to the community is an integral part of his life and it was nurtured when he was an undergraduate student in Plymouth.

“It reinforces what I learned at Plymouth, giving and caring does make a difference,” Wylie said. “I think we can be models to others and encourage others to do it; I’m greatly appreciative of this award.”

PSUAA Award Recipients
Plymouth State University Alumni Association 2009 honorees, from left to right, Amanda Crean, Christina Labriola, Gene Martin, Class of 2009 Officers who received the Graduating Senior Award of Excellence, Kim Rawson Sychterz, Outstanding Graduate Alumni Award, Linda Levy, Faculty/Staff Award of Excellence, Heidi Pettigrew, Recent Alumni Award of Excellence, Fred Bramante, Alumni Achievement Award, Larry Haynes, Distinguished Alumni Service Award, and Richard Wylie, Ut Prosim Award.

Recent Alumni Award of Excellence: Heidi Pettigrew 1999, G07

Established in 2008, the Recent Alumni Award of Excellence is awarded to alumni who have graduated within the last 10 years, in recognition of professional excellence and outstanding service to the University, association, community and/or nation. Pettigrew received both her undergraduate and graduate degrees from PSU and is currently the Marketing Manager for PSU’s College of Graduate Studies. Pettigrew said she is deeply honored to receive the award.

“As a student, Plymouth prepared me with the skills and knowledge I needed to succeed professionally,” Pettigrew said. “Now, as an employee, Plymouth has given me the opportunity identify and pursue my professional interests; connect and collaborate with staff, faculty, students, and alumni; and explore and implement new ideas to best serve the University and our constituents. I look forward to continuing to serve Plymouth State—as an employee and proud alum.”

Faculty/Staff Award of Excellence: Linda Levy G04 – HHP

Established in 2008, the Faculty/Staff Award of Excellence is awarded to a faculty or staff member who exhibits a commitment to supporting alumni and students connections in a campus environment. Levy, an HHP associate professor, said she hoped that she can continue to give as much to the University as she has received.

“It’s very humbling to receive an award from an alumni association,” said Levy. “For me, it’s just a way to give back to a place that’s given me so much.”

Graduating Senior Award of Excellence: The Class of 2009 Officers (Eugene Martin, Christina Labriola, Amanda Crean)

Established in 2008, the Graduating Senior Award of Excellence is awarded to a graduating member of the incoming alumni class who exhibits outstanding campus and community leadership while enhancing alumni activities. Martin said the Class of 2009 started a scholarship program for students of the ALLWell Center because it’s a gift that will directly aid students.

“We chose the class gift to better the institution, rather than just giving a bench or something tangible, we’re giving chances for scholarships to help the ALLWell Center, so hopefully we’ve set the bar for the next set of folks,” Martin said.

Outstanding Graduate Alumni Award : Kim Rawson Sychterz G09

Established in 2008, the Outstanding Graduate Alumni Award is awarded to a graduate alum who through earning an advanced degree has been able to impact their profession, community or society in a positive and meaningful manner. Rawson Sychterz credits PSU’s faculty with her success and said the award reflects their hard work.

“It’s a huge honor,” said Rawson Sychterz. “The faculty have given me so many opportunities; they’ve helped me become what I am today and accomplish the things I have today.”

For more information about this release, contact Bruce Lyndes, PSU Media Relations Mgr., (603) 535-2775 or