Plymouth State educators honored at 2014 EDies Award Ceremony

July 31st, 2014 by Lynn

    PLYMOUTH — Eleven educators with affiliation to Plymouth State University were honored June 7 at the New Hampshire Edie Awards, which recognize New Hampshire schools and individuals who meet high standards of educational excellence. Esther Asbell, Donna Ciocca, Christina Flanders, ’00, Carl Ladd, ’05CAGS, Judith Lavoie, Joseph Lee, ’06, Bill Marston, ’54,’64G, Pearl Sandy, Thomas Stevens, ’01, Jonas Taub and Barbara Wirth, ’09CAGS, received awards at a ceremony attended by Plymouth State University President Sara Jayne Steen, University Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Julie Bernier and Marianne True, Chair of PSU’s Elementary Education and Childhood Studies Department.

    “It is a joy to attend the EDies and see the extraordinary work being done on behalf of New Hampshire’s children,” said Steen. “I’m pleased that Plymouth State educators have a strong role in that excellence.”

    Plymouth State alum Bill Marston, ’54,’64G, who has more than 50 years’ experience as a teacher, principal, athletic director and university faculty member, received the Doris Barnes Retired Educator Lifetime Achievement Award. The award states, “He has made significant contributions to improving the quality of education from pre-K through college levels.”

    Marston, a Bristol native, is active in Plymouth State’s Alumni Association and is also a member of Plymouth State’s Athletic Hall of Fame for his achievements in basketball and baseball. He formerly served on the USNH Board of Trustees and the PSU President’s Council.

    Dr. Carl Ladd, ’05CAGS, was named 2013-14 Superintendent of the Year by the New Hampshire School Administrators Association (NHSAA). He is currently superintendent of SAU 58 in Groveton.

    Barbara Wirth, ‘09CAGS, received the Business Education Achievement Award, presented by the New Hampshire Business Education Association. Wirth has held numerous business education positions in New Hampshire.

    Pearl Sandy and Judith Lavoie received the Dennise Maslakowski Education Award for their work in establishing and maintaining the Reading and Writing Specialist Program at PSU’s College of Graduate Studies. The award is named after the late Dennise Maslakowski, whose extraordinary educational leadership spanned more than three decades at PSU; her name is synonymous with graduate education throughout the state of New Hampshire.

    Donna Ciocca was named Reading Teacher of the Year by the Granite State Reading Council. Ciocca, currently teaching at Plymouth State in the Reading Specialist program, formerly taught in the Concord School District. In addition to teaching at the graduate and undergraduate levels at Plymouth State, Ciocca has planned and implemented New Hampshire Literacy Day for the past eight years in which she has worked to give away nearly 75,000 free books to participating children.

    Esther Asbell received the Outstanding Service Award from the New Hampshire School Administrators Association. Asbell, a PSU faculty member in Education, is the assistant superintendent in the Exeter Region School District.

    Jonas Taub, a PSU faculty member in Counselor Education and School Psychology, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the New Hampshire Association of School Psychologists.

    Christina Flanders, ’00, was awarded the School Psychologist of the Year by the New Hampshire Association of School Psychologists. Flanders has been the Laconia School District school psychologist since June, 2005. She is also a faculty member at Plymouth State University.

    Thomas Stevens, ’01, was named the Distinguished Music Educator of the Year by the New Hampshire Music Educators Association. For the past decade, he has served as the band director at Prospect Mountain High School in Alton. He also volunteers as director of the Lakes Region Music Festival and is active in state and national music educators groups.

    Joseph Lee ’06, was honored as New Hampshire’s 2014 Teacher of the Year by the New Hampshire Department of Education. The Plymouth State alum is a Social Studies teacher at Pinkerton Academy, currently teaching Cultural Geography. He coaches golf and boy’s hockey and is co-adviser for the China Exchange Program. Lee is the second PSU-educated teacher to be selected as New Hampshire’s Teacher of the Year in the past four years; Angie Miller of Holderness Central School, a 2002 Plymouth State graduate, was selected in 2011.

    The EDies originated in 1993 to honor New Hampshire’s best educators.

    Featured in Plymouth Magazine

    Example Image

    Student Spotlight: Mae Williams ’14G A Twenty-first-century Preservationist

    When Mae Williams ’14G enrolled in the Master of Arts in Historic Preservation program in the fall of 2012, she was drawn to the strength of a program in which, she says, “The professors are not academics locked away amidst a pile of books, but are actually out in the field on a daily basis, […]

    Example Image

    Ut Prosim: Burton for Certain

    Ray Burton ’62 lived all his years in the North Country of New Hampshire. Few elected officials have ever understood the lifestyle and character of their constituents as well as he did or have known so many of them by name. On December 14, 2013, hundreds of Burton’s fellow citizens joined dozens of past and […]

    Example Image

    Arts: Digital Repository Puts PSU’s History and Culture at Your Fingertips

    Where can you get a close look at a photo of Babe Ruth standing in front of the Draper and Maynard Building, peruse a 1905 copy of Plymouth Normal School’s literary magazine The Prospect, and examine an aerial view of Plymouth State’s campus in 1960? Thanks to PSU’s digital repository, these historical treasures—along with 15,000 […]