Plymouth State University Honors Students, Faculty and Organizations with Campus Compact for New Hampshire Awards

PLYMOUTH, N.H. (April 17, 2017) – A Plymouth State University (PSU) professor, an undergraduate student, its American Marketing Association (AMA) collegiate chapter, and a local community partner were honored at the Campus Compact for New Hampshire’s (CCNH) annual Presidents’ Awards presentation on April 11, 2017 in Bedford, NH. CCNH is a statewide consortium of college and university presidents who are dedicated to advancing the civic purposes of higher education. The individuals and groups recognized were nominated by PSU President Donald Birx for their commitment to serving the PSU and Plymouth-area community.

“The recipients of the Campus Compact Awards are dedicated to making our community, our region and indeed our state stronger,” said Birx. “We are proud of each of them, and appreciate their tireless service.”

The Marketing Association at Plymouth State (MAPS) was honored with the “Presidents’ Student Leadership Award” which recognizes students or student groups who have made outstanding contributions to civic engagement. MAPS comprises 67 students from various academic disciplines who work together to create professional development and networking opportunities for their peers, and are committed to serving the community. MAPS members regularly lead or participate in volunteer and fundraising activities on campus and for non-profit organizations throughout the region, including the Pemi Youth Center, American Cancer Society, Ladders Thrift Store, Special Olympics of New Hampshire and others. This year, MAPS partnered with the PSU men’s and women’s ice hockey teams and Vermont Teddy Bear Company on the first-ever PSU “Teddy Bear Toss” to benefit Children’s Hospital at Dartmouth (CHaD). The event resulted in a donation of $1,300 and 600 teddy bears to CHaD.

MAPS was also recently honored at the AMA’s National Collegiate Conference in New Orleans as one of the top 25 collegiate AMA chapters in the country, and earned the top score in the SABRE marketing simulation competition. 

PSU student Paige Schoppmann, an English major, received the 2017 “Newman Civic Fellows Award,” which recognizes collegiate student leaders who demonstrate an investment in finding solutions to challenges facing communities nationwide. Schoppmann is dedicated to advancing women’s issues and serves as president of the PSU SAVE All (Sexual Assault and Violence Education Alliance) chapter. She has coordinated service opportunities for her peers, including a recent service trip to Peru. As recipient of the Newman Civic Fellows Award, Schoppmann is considered to be among the nation’s next generation of problem solvers and civic leaders.

Cynthia Waltman, Ph.D., professor of psychology, received the “Presidents’ Good Steward Award,” which recognizes faculty or staff members who contribute professional expertise in service to the wider community.

As an activist for children’s mental health needs, Dr. Waltman provides area schools with information and tools to reduce violence, curb bullying and enhance social-emotional skills. She wrote two federal grants that provided $2.2 million for graduate student internships, professional development for mental health practitioners, and partnerships with school districts throughout New Hampshire to provide social-emotional screening for students.

Dr. Waltman also successfully led the effort to gain national accreditation for PSU’s school psychology program, and is a campus leader in PSU’s transformation to an integrated cluster model.

Squam Lakes Association (SLA) was awarded the “Presidents’ Community Partner Award” for 2017. The Community Partner Award is given to a non-profit organization that has enhanced the quality of life in the community and engaged in the development of sustained, reciprocal partnerships with a college or university. SLA has partnered with the PSU Center for the Environment for 13 years, providing hands-on learning and research opportunities for students within the Squam Lake Watershed. PSU faculty and students likewise contribute environmental research and monitoring services to SLA.

“This year’s awardees epitomize Plymouth State University’s culture of service to others, and serve as leaders and role models for the entire community,” said Birx.

CCNH’s programs and resources include training, advocacy, funding, legislative outreach and recognition for community-based work that both enhances student learning and provides needed public services. Annually, more than 23,000 student volunteers from CCNH’s member campuses serve some 6 million hours in local communities through initiatives run or supported by their institutions, providing millions of dollars in services.

(L-R) E.B. James and Eve Porter-Zuckerman of Squam Lake Association (SLA) receive the Campus Compact for New Hampshire Presidents’ Community Partner Award from Paula Lee Hobson, vice president for university advancement, Plymouth State University (PSU).

(L-R): Cynthia Waltman, Ph.D., professor of psychology, receives the Campus Compact for NH Presidents’ Good Steward Award from Paula Lee Hobson, vice president for university advancement, PSU.

(L-R): Brad Allen, Ph.D., and Greg Dumont, Ph.D, faculty advisors for the Marketing Association at Plymouth State (MAPS); Paul Lee Hobson, vice president for university advancement, PSU; Sam Chiaverini, MAPS past chapter president, and Jennifer Santucci, current MAPS chapter president with the Student Leadership Award.

Comments are closed.