The Robert Frost Contemporary American Award

In 1970, the Plymouth State Alumni Association instituted what has become one of the most prestigious awards made by a New England college or university–the Robert Frost Contemporary American Award. The award is named in memory of America’s late poet laureate, Robert Frost, who taught at Plymouth Normal School early in the 20th century. The Alumni Association created the award to recognize those individuals whose service to the people of New England best exemplifies Robert Frost’s values of individuality, hard work, humanitarianism, and devotion to the country “North of Boston.”

Submit a nomination for consideration in 2014.

Award Recipients

2007    Richard Ober ’83, conservationist and writer
2005    Valerie Cunningham, author, historian, activist
2003    Stacey Cole, author, politician, advocate
2001    Maxine Kumin, Pulitzer Prize winning poet and author
1999    John D. Harrigan, journalist
1997    Donald Hall, poet and essayist
1995    Warren B. Rudman, former Attorney General of N.H., served two terms in the United States Senate
1993    Walter R. Peterson, former Governor of N.H., leader in higher education, politics, and civic affairs
1991    Paul J. Holloway, philanthropist and former University System of N.H. trustee
1989    Mary Louise Hancock, former director of N.H. State Planning and State Senator
1987    John W. King, former Governor of N.H. and Chief Justice N.H. Supreme Court
1985    Margaret Quill Flynn, N.H. Superior Court
1983    Jere A. Chase, University System of N.H. trustee
1981    James C. Cleveland, United States Representative
1979    J. Duane Squires, the prominent N.H. historian
1977    Harold Hyde, Plymouth State College President Emeritus
1976    Anna L. Philbrook, pioneering child psychiatrist
1973    Frank R. Kenison, Chief Justice, N.H. Supreme Court
1972    Norris Cotton, former United States Senator
1971    Amos N. Blandin, Jr., State Supreme Court Justice
1970    Sherman Adams, former Governor of New Hampshire