2009 Faculty Elections – Candidates' Statements

March 19th, 2009 by Bridget

Nominees for 2009 faculty elections are invited to use this space to post statements concerning their nominations for faculty committees or other elected positions. This is purely voluntary and is intended primarily as a means for newer faculty to introduce themselves to the wider faculty prior to the election (although any faculty nominee should feel free to post a statement). This space is not intended as a Q & A forum.

On the first line, please post your name, department, and the committee or position for which you are running. Follow that with your brief statement.


The Nominating & Balloting Committee
Scott Coykendall, Evelyn Stiller, & Mark Turski

P.S. The current list of nominees follows.

Academic Affairs Committee
(meets 3rd Mondays 3:45-5:15 and 4th Fridays 2:30-4:30)
Whitney Howarth William Kietzman
Barbara Lopez-Mayhew Christian Roberson
Francis M. Williams Roxana Wright
Athletic Council
(meets 1st Mondays at 2:30)
Roger Blake Samuel Brickley
Lynn V. Johson William Kietzman
Bryon Middlekauff Wendy J. Palmquist

Curriculum Committee
(meets 3rd Fridays at 2:30)

Bonnie Bechard Christian Bisson
Karolyn Kinane Vedran Lelas
Nick Sevigney Lisa Spradley
Francis M. Williams Eun-Ho Yo

Faculty Welfare Committee
(2nd and 4th Friday from 2:30-4:30)

John Downs Mark Fischler
William Kietzman Zhizhang Shen
Roxana Wright

Frost School Council
(meets 2nd Tuesdays at 3:30)

Terri Dautcher William Kietzman
Christian Roberson

General Education Committee
(meets 2nd and 4th Mondays at 2:30)

Chris Chabot Joel Funk
Wilson Garcia Elliott Gruner
Jong-Yoon Kim Christian Roberson

Grievance Resolution Committee

William Kietzman Christian Roberson
Zhizhang Shen Anil Waghe
James Whiting

Planning/Budgeting Leadership Committee

Marcia Schmidt Blaine Trent Boggess
William Kietzman Cynthia Vascak
Anil Waghe

Observers to Student Senate

Eric Cintron

Representative to the PAT Senate
Lourdes Avilés

Representative to the Board of Trustees
Tom Driscoll
Phil Lonergan

Representative to the Board of Trustees’ Financial Affairs Committee
No nominee

Faculty Speaker Elect
Scott Coykendall


Featured in Plymouth Magazine

Example Image

Seeing Further: Into the North Country

  The Lancaster Project, an integrated cluster initiative that uses a multidisciplinary approach, focuses on bringing more life to the small business community on Main Street, particularly the historical Lancaster National Bank building, in Lancaster, New Hampshire. The project capitalizes on the varied knowledge of 60 students from 10 different academic majors. Collaborative groups work […]

Example Image

Building a First-Year Class

PSU’s overwhelming success with enrollment for the 2015–16 academic year was the result of focused multi-year investments in admissions, marketing, academic and co-curricular programs, and new and repurposed facilities.

Example Image

Cracking the Glass Ceiling in Athletics Administration 

When alumna Kim Bownes ’07G was named Director of Athletics in January, she added another crack to a glass ceiling in collegiate athletics. She joined the group of women leading National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III athletics departments who make up just 29 percent of DIII athletics directors, according to the 2016 report by […]