2005 James J. Hogan Award to Mary Campbell of Hebron

October 13th, 2005 by Adam

Personal connection with students makes a big difference. Ask Mary Campbell, recipient of The 2005 Dr. James J. Hogan Memorial Award.

Campbell is director of curriculum support in the office of undergraduate studies at Plymouth State University where she has worked since 1974. She developed an interest in student athletics working with the students as an advisor, mentor and friend.

The Hogan Award recognizes individuals who have made significant and lasting contributions to Plymouth State Athletics. It is given in memory of the former Plymouth State history professor, coach and Plymouth resident who was a major supporter and contributor to Panther athletics for many years.

The award was presented by President Donald Wharton, professor Bonnie Epstein who is the 2003 award recipient, and Scott Curran ’01, the varsity soccer player who was responsible for Mary’s interest in men’s soccer. Curran traveled from New York City to be part of the ceremony.

The ceremony emcee said, “Campbell enjoys a very close bond to the men’s soccer and basketball programs, as well as the rest of the athletic teams at Plymouth State, and has been a strong supporter of Panther athletics over the years. She serves all students, giving endless support throughout their academic lives, but always keeping close to her heart the athletic family at PSU.”

Campbell explained her relationship with Curran saying, “Scott was at risk as a student when he came to me in the fall of 1998, and I made a deal with him. I told him I would come to all of his games, if he would pay more attention to the academic side of
his experience. He did, and I’ve been to all but three men’s home soccer games since that fall.” Her record is close to perfect however, as Mary has attended three away games.

Her interest in men’s basketball developed the same way—showing interest in a struggling student. She says, “This is not a job duty, it is an opportunity. We all have different roles to play. I help students with the academic side of their experience, and celebrate them as students and athletes.”

Previous recipients of the Dr. James J. Hogan Memorial Award are John P. Clark (1987), Fred Madore (1988), Chuck Bailey (1989), Ross Deachman (1990), Wendy Palmquist (1991), Chuck Ledger (1992), Physical Plant Staff (1993), Larry DiCenzo (1994), Jim McLaughlin (1995), Dr. Dan O’Neil (1996), John Battaglino (1997), Residential Life Staff (1998), Ann Thurston (1999), Keith Philbrick (2000), Sodexho Dining Services (2001), Robin Cummings (2002), Bonnie Epstein (2003) and Gene Fahey (2004).