Five PSC Players Earn LEC Honors

November 22nd, 1999 by Adam

PLYMOUTH, N.H.. – Five Plymouth State College men’s soccer players were rewarded for their efforts this season by being named to the Little East
Conference All-Star Team.

Senior Kevin Martin (Foxboro, MA) and sophomore Magnus Eriksson (Arjang, Sweeden) were named to the All-LEC First Team. LEC Second
Team selections for the Panthers included a pair of juniors, Jeremy Gasowski (Lee, NH) and Simon Sendowski (Gothenberg, Sweeden). Freshman Steve
Wallis (Raymond, NH) was honored as the LEC Rookie of the Year.

Wallis started all 21 games for PSC, scoring four goals and five assists. In his first collegiate game, Wallis recorded his first goal when he closed out the
scoring in a 3–0 victory over Franklin & Marshall. He is the sixth PSC player to receive LEC Rookie of the Year honors, joining Matt Forget in 1989, Paul
Andrew in 1992, Johan Soderstrom in 1993, Magnus Karlsson in 1994 and Antoine Moiboueyi in 1998.

Martin closes out his senior campaign with his second consecutive First Team selection. An All-American in ’98, Martin started the last 41 games for the
Panthers. He tallied a team high 10 goals and five assists for the season, and for his career he managed 15 goals and 13 assists.

Eriksson and Sendowski anchored a Panther defense that posted eight shutouts. Like Martin, Eriksson returns to the LEC First Team for the second
consecutive year. Both players are also offensive threats coming out of the back, with Eriksson scoring three goals and two assists and Sendowski adding one goal
and four assists.

A three-year veteran and two-year starter, Gasowski was a steady flank player for the Panthers and earns his first LEC post-season honor. His five goals
and five assists were key to a Panther offense that found the back of the net 48 times. Gasowski was named to the LEC Weekly Honor Roll in October when he
scored two goals in a key LEC win over Western Connecticut.

These players were instrumental in PSC finishing with a 12-6-1 overall record under eighth-year head coach Shawn Griffin. The Panthers advanced to the
championship game of the first LEC Tournament before losing in overtime to Keene State, then participated in the ECAC Tournament for their third straight
post-season appearance and sixth in the last seven years.