Four PSU Students Win Meteorology Scholarships

September 8th, 2006 by Adam

Four Plymouth State University meteorology students have been awarded Ernest F. Hollings Undergraduate Scholarships for the upcoming academic year. Daniel Scott Michaud, Madbury, N.H., Katherine Anne Pingree, Coventry, Conn., Jared Rennie, Woburn, Mass., and Melissa Payer, Pepperell, Mass., are among 101 juniors and seniors nationwide to receive the Hollings scholarship, which includes up to $8,000 in funding. The scholarship program is administered by the Oak Ridge Institute for Science and Education on behalf of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). The PSU scholarship recipients join colleagues from other well-known institutions of higher learning, including Harvard, Stanford, Texas A&M and the University of Pennsylvania in achieving this highly-sought recognition.

Plymouth State University President Dr. Sara Jayne Steen commended the scholarship winners, saying, “This is a well-deserved honor for these students and also for our University, The Judd Gregg Meteorology Institute in Boyd Science Center provides students with some of the finest meteorology facilities in the country and is a great resource for our region.”

The PSU scholarship winners are required to participate in a 10-week summer internship and attend the Hollings Scholarship Program conference at the completion of the internship. The purpose of the Hollings scholarship is to increase public understanding and recruit and prepare students for public service careers or careers as teachers and educators in oceanic and atmospheric science.

The scholarships are awarded in honor of U.S. Senator Ernest Hollings (South Carolina-D), who championed creation of the NOAA during his 36-year tenure in Congress.