Keene State President Stanley J. Yarosewick Honored by PSU

May 23rd, 2005 by Adam

Dr. Stanley J. Yarosewick received the Harold E. Hyde Award at the Plymouth State University commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 21 on the PSU campus. The eighth president of Keene (N.H.) State College, Yarosewick previously served as provost, vice president for academic affairs and interim president at West Chester (Penn.) University. Last August, Yarosewick announced he would retire from the Keene State presidency during the summer of 2005 after 10 years in that position.

“President Yarosewick—Dr. Y, as he is affectionately known on the Keene State campus by faculty, staff and students—has been an outstanding leader for Keene State, the University System of New Hampshire, and public higher education in the nation,” says President Wharton. “The exemplary standard of stewardship which he has set during his years at Keene is a model for all of us in higher education to emulate. The good which Stan has done for thousands of Keene State students and graduates is a record of service that will long endure.”

Dr. Yarosewick is known as a tireless advocate for public higher education. He has been instrumental in establishing key partnerships with businesses and area educational institutions to expand educational opportunities and address workforce issues in the region. He was also actively involved in a partnership to establish the first local Internet provider, and, with Monadnock Family Services and the Winchester schools, to promote early college awareness among middle school students.

Under his leadership, Keene State established an effective institutional planning process that has helped to unite the campus community around widely supported planning themes. He initiated a campus technology planning process that allows the College to make substantial and sustained progress in upgrading the technology to support teaching, learning, and services to students.

Originally from Exeter, N.H., he earned a bachelor’s degree at the University of New Hampshire, and a master’s degree and doctorate in physics at Clarkson College of Technology in New York.

The Harold E. Hyde award is named for the 10th president of Plymouth State who served from 1951–1977. Under his leadership, Plymouth Teachers College became Plymouth State College in 1963. He led the institution through three decades of both physical and programmatic growth, becoming known nationally as a leader of college presidents. It is in the Harold E. Hyde tradition of service that Plymouth State University is honored to recognized Dr. Stanley J. Yarosewick for his distinguished educational leadership.

# # #