N.H. Attorney General Kelly Ayotte Urges PSU Students to ‘Pursue Greater Good’

May 1st, 2007 by Adam

Thirteen Plymouth State University criminal justice students have been named to the Alpha Phi Sigma honor society for academic excellence. The Student Recognition awards event was held April 30 and featured a keynote address by New Hampshire Attorney General Kelly Ayotte, who encouraged the students to pursue their career goals for the greater good of society.

“We’re expecting great things from you,” said Ayotte. “There are times you will feel you’re in over your head, but if you depend on those that are more experienced for advice and you believe in yourself, you will achieve great things.”

Honor Society advisor Mark Fischler officiated the event and PSU President Sara Jayne Steen addressed the gathering, which included department faculty, parents and friends. Honor Society President Brandon Doolittle (class of 2007) encouraged the new inductees to continue the work of the recently recognized campus Criminal Justice organization; students sponsored a book drive to benefit the N.H. State Prison library.

The awardees included:

Outstanding First-Year Criminal Justice Student – Patrick J. Rush

David L. Kent Criminal Justice Spirit Award ($500 scholarship) – Dana J. Nevins

Outstanding Criminal Justice Senior – James M. Aceto

The current Alpha Phi Sigma honor society (Eta Zeta Chapter) members are:

• James Aceto

• Anna Aurelia

• Adam Batstone*

• Adam Bergeron-Rosa*

• Edwin Cardona

• Ryan DeBlois

• Brandon Doolittle (Chapter President)

• Andrew Doucet*

• Melissa Downing

• Nathan Gardner

• Christopher Gerda*

• Diana Gibbs

• Jennafer Goetsch

• Lindsey Green

• Jason Hey

• Jennifer Hill

• Frederick Hodgkins, Jr.*

• Amanda Johnson

• Matthew Kane

• Christopher Ladd

• Jenny Larochelle

• Elizabeth Murray*

• Danielle Normand*

• Dana Nevins

• Sean O’Donnell*

• Lori Pettengill

• Mary Pillsbury (Chapter Vice President)

• Erica Pratt*

• David Salamone

• Brett Sanborn*

• Danielle Schacht*

• Jenny Smith*

• Genevieve Wargo*

(* designates 2006-2007 initiate).

Additionally, retired New Hampshire Supreme Court Justice Bill Batchelder of Plymouth received an honorary membership in the Alpha Phi Sigma Eta Zeta chapter.

For more information about this release, contact Bruce Lyndes, PSU Media Relations Mgr., (603) 535-2775 or blyndes@plymouth.edu