National Health Education Group Honors Two PSU Faculty

April 22nd, 2012 by blyndes

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – Lynn Johnson and Morgan O’Connell of Plymouth State University’s Health and Human
Performance (HHP) Department were recognized by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (AAHPERD) at its national convention in Boston last month. Professor Johnson received the Honor Award,
which recognizes recipients for their personal integrity, showcase of spirit of devoted service to the professions, and outstanding and noteworthy contributions to the advancement of health, physical education, recreation, or
dance. O’Connell, an adjunct professor, received the Ruth Abernathy Presidential Scholarship, which is awarded to student Alliance members who have achieved academic excellence, showcased leadership in the profession of physical education, and a commitment to his/her school and community through professional activities or  volunteer services. She will receive a $1750 scholarship and a three-year complimentary AAHPERD membership. Dr. Julie Bernier, PSU Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, said the national recognition bestowed on Johnson and O’Connell is indicative of the level of achievement and excellence in Health and Human Performance students and faculty.

Left to right, Lynn Johnson and Morgan O’Connell of Plymouth State University’s Health and Human Performance Department were recognized by the American Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance

As a professor in the Health and Human Performance Department, Johnson teaches courses in the physical and health education teacher certification program. She also works extensively with Vermont physical education teachers facilitating
the implementation of standards-based teaching and assessment. In addition, the award winning educator published several articles in the area of assessment and instruction and co-authored Steps to Success: Softball.

She has been honored with the EDA Outstanding Professional Award, Honor Award, and the VAHPERD Higher Education Teacher of the Year Award.

Johnson received her undergraduate and M.Ed. degrees in Physical Education from Springfield College and an Ed.D.
in Leadership and Policy Studies from the University of Vermont.

O’Connell teaches Physical Education and Wellness Concepts and works to provide learning opportunities that enhance her students’ understanding of physical activity and wellness. She has maintained a 4.0 GPA during her rigorous master’s program all while teaching classes and volunteering for several organizations.  She chaired and coordinated several local service projects in addition to two Alternative Spring Break trips to Florida and Louisiana to help rebuild after Hurricane Katrina.

O’Connell earned a bachelor’s degree from PSU in Physical Education with a Physical Education and Health Education Teacher Certification option.  She will be graduating with a master’s degree in Health Education with an Integrative Health and Healing concentration in May 2012.

AAHPERD, an alliance of five national associations, six district associations, and a Research Consortium, provides
its members with a comprehensive and coordinated array of resources, support, and programs to help practitioners improve their skills to further the health and well-being of the American public. It is the largest organization of
professionals involved in physical education, recreation, fitness, dance, health promotion and all specialties related to achieving an active, healthy lifestyle. AAHPERD serves 20,000 members nationwide.

For more information about this release, contact Bruce Lyndes, PSU News Services Mgr.,
(603) 535-2775 or

In the News

Example Image

Scholars from Across U.S. Gather at Plymouth State University’s 35th Annual Medieval and Renaissance Forum April 25 and 26

PLYMOUTH, N.H.— More than 100 scholars will present their latest research on many aspects of medieval and Renaissance culture at the 35th annual Medieval and Renaissance Forum, April 25 and 26 at Plymouth State University. Plymouth State’s forum is the oldest conference of its type in New England. The theme of this year’s event is [...]

Example Image
Example Image