Happy members of the Class of 2016 celebrate their graduation.

PSU Awards Nearly 1,000 Degrees at 145th Commencement Ceremony: Sports Journalist Peter King and Nick Vailas ’76 Address Graduates

May 14th, 2016 by blyndes

Plymouth, N.H. – Plymouth State University’s 145th commencement ceremony made history on Saturday, May 14, as the institution held its first graduation in the new ALLWell North facility. Nearly 1,000 undergraduate, graduate and doctoral degrees were awarded before a crowd of 4,500 guests. President Donald Birx, presiding over his first commencement ceremony at PSU, welcomed […]

Kim Bownes accepts the 2016 Distinguished PAT Award from PSU President Donald Birx.

Kim Bownes ’08G Named Plymouth State University’s 2016 Distinguished PAT

May 9th, 2016 by blyndes

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – A long-time Plymouth State University administrator and coach has been recognized by her peers with PSU’s 2016 Distinguished Professional, Administrative, Technical (PAT) Award. Kim Bownes ’08G was honored in a May 6 ceremony.    PSU President Donald Birx said Bownes is a dedicated professional whose commitment to the institution is unparalleled. “Kim […]

PSU Professor Sam Brickley II, 2016 Distinguished
Teaching Award recipient.

Plymouth State University Announces 2016 Distinguished Faculty: Samuel Brickley, Burrett McBee and Michael Morgan ’02G Recognized for Excellence

May 6th, 2016 by blyndes

Plymouth, N.H. – Three professors with a passion for teaching and dedication to their students have been honored by Plymouth State University. Samuel Brickley II, Burrett McBee and Michael Morgan ’02G are the recipients of the 2016 Distinguished Teaching Awards. Nominations for these honors are accepted from PSU faculty, staff, students and alumni. “I could […]

Plymouth State University business professor Warren Mason with former student Amanda Bacon, a  Newfields resident and public relations professional who regularly returns to her alma mater to mentor students.

PSU Alumna Amanda Bacon ’04 Shares Public Relations Expertise with Students

May 6th, 2016 by blyndes

Plymouth, N.H. – Twelve years ago, New Hampshire native Amanda Bacon was a Plymouth State University senior preparing to graduate and begin a public relations career. A few weeks after receiving her degree, she landed her first job through a temp agency. In the ensuing years, her public relations career advanced and she stayed in […]

Left to right, Students Katie Misiaszek, Ashley Hess and faculty members Cynthia Waltman and Christina Flanders discuss an issue in a graduate-level school psychologist class.

Plymouth State’s School Psychology Program Earns National Certification

May 3rd, 2016 by blyndes

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – Plymouth State University’s school psychology graduate program has achieved a prestigious national approval from the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP). According to PSU Professor of Counselor Education and School Psychology Cynthia Waltman, PSU is now the first and only NASP-approved program in New Hampshire and Vermont. “Attaining this NASP approval demonstrates […]

Children from PSU’s Center for Young Children and Families assisted in the University's 20th annual Arbor Day event.

PSU Commemorates Arbor Day with Tribute to Late Professor

May 2nd, 2016 by blyndes

Plymouth, N.H. – A yellow birch sapling has been planted on the campus of Plymouth State University, but it represents far more than an addition to the campus green space. The tree on the south side of Highland Hall was planted during an Arbor Day event on April 29 in memory of Michele Pruyn, a […]

PSU student Tenley Sodeur '15, left, explains her research project to other students in this  2015 file image of the Student Showcase of Excellence.

PSU Presents Student Showcase of Excellence May 6

April 28th, 2016 by blyndes

Plymouth, N.H. – More than 120 Plymouth State University students will present original research and scholarly work in the sciences, arts, humanities and business on Friday, May 6, from 2-6 p.m. at the fifth annual Student Showcase of Excellence event. Thad Guldbrandsen, PSU vice provost for research and engagement, says the Showcase is not only […]

Plymouth State University's Campus Compact for New Hampshire (CCNH) award recipients with PSU President Donald Birx at the annual CCNH banquet in Bedford. Left to right,  Jessica Dutille, Samantha Diemand, President Don Birx, Anne-Marie Vaillancourt and Professor Bonnie Bechard.

Professor Bonnie Bechard, Anne Marie Vaillancourt ’16, and the Pemi-Youth Center Named Campus Compact for New Hampshire Award Recipients

April 22nd, 2016 by blyndes

Plymouth, N.H. – A Plymouth State University business professor, an undergraduate student and a local youth mentoring group were selected by Plymouth State University to be honored at Campus Compact for New Hampshire’s (CCNH) annual Presidents’ Awards presentation on April 21 in Bedford. CCNH is a statewide consortium of college and university presidents who are […]

Samantha St. Laurent accepts 2016 Student Employee of the Year Award from Plymouth State University President Don Birx in an April 13 ceremony. She was chosen from seven contestants.

Samantha St. Laurent ’16 Named Plymouth State University 2016 Student Employee of the Year

April 14th, 2016 by blyndes

  PLYMOUTH, N.H. – Samantha St. Laurent ’16 of Jaffrey, N.H., has won the prestigious Plymouth State University Student Employee of the Year Award. St. Laurent, a senior majoring in psychology, works at the Hartman Union Building, where she has earned praise for her dependability, attention to detail and friendliness in working with students, staff […]

Janette Wiggett ’00 accepts PSU’s 2016 Theo Kalikow Award from President Don Birx.

Janette Wiggett ’00 Receives PSU’s 2016 Theo Kalikow Award; Elizabeth Barden ’16 and Kia Sinclair ’14 Named Powerful Outstanding Women Advocate Award Recipients

April 12th, 2016 by blyndes

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – Three women were recognized March 31 at the annual PSU President’s Commission on the Status of Women (PCSW) Awards Recognition ceremony. The awards are given to those who have demonstrated genuine concern for the advancement of women through their continuous involvement in advocacy for women. The Theo Kalikow Award is named after […]