Panthers Give Out Annual Team Awards

May 8th, 2000 by Adam

PLYMOUTH, NH – The Plymouth State College Ice Hockey program closed out the 1999 – 2000 season with a number of post season honors handed out by head coach Mike

The Panthers recognized Dave Webster for his 20 years of coaching by naming an award in his honor. Webster, who coached the Panthers from 1976 through 1996, compiled a
208 – 172 – 16 record and five ECAC post season appearances. “The Dave Webster Award” recognizes an individual who, like Coach Webster, exemplifies dedication and commitment
to the players, staff and overall direction of the PSC Ice Hockey program. This year’s recipient was Ralph Trinque, the General Manager of the Waterville Valley Ice Arena, PSC’s home

Coach Bonelli also presented two new awards in honor of two outstanding alumni. “The Duncan Walsh Award” went to this season’s Offensive Player of the Year. The award is
named for the PSC Hall of Fame forward and one of the Panthers’ all-time leading scorers. Walsh skated for Plymouth State from 1982 – 86 and has gone on to distinguish himself as a
very successful coach at Concord (NH) High School. This year’s recipient of this new award is senior Rich Vega (New Milford CT).

“The Peter Kania Award” is named after the 6’4, 210 lb. PSC Hall of Fame defensemen and the school’s first ECAC All-Star. This award annually goes to the Defensive Player of
the Year. This season’s award winner is senior defensemen John Power (Reading MA).

The Panthers also awarded Kevin Creighton (Falmouth, MA) with the Community Service Award, Henry Sabens (Falmouth, MA) with the Rookie of the Year Award and sophomore
goalie Larry Forgue (Nashua, NH) with this year’s MVP Award.