Plymouth State returns to the New England Football Conference

July 18th, 2005 by Adam

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University football team has a new home. Same as the old home.

New England Football Conference commissioner Sue Lauder has announced Plymouth State and the Coast Guard Academy have been admitted as members of the NEFC starting in the 2006 season.

“We are extremely happy that two institutions with such rich football traditions will be joining the conference,” said Lauder, the athletic director at Fitchburg State College. “We welcome Plymouth State back to the conference and look forward to the addition of Coast Guard for the first time.”

After beginning its football program in 1970, Plymouth State was a member of the NEFC from 1971-91, winning or sharing nine titles in those 21 seasons. Plymouth State competed in the Freedom Football Conference for 12 seasons from 1992-2003 before playing independent schedules in 2004 and 2005.

“We are very appreciative of the schools in the NEFC who have accepted us into the conference,” said PSU athletic director John P. Clark. “Across the board, the New England Football Conference represents the schools we have the most in common with geographically and philosophically. They are the schools we most often compete against in many sports, and most importantly, our students identify with the schools in the NEFC. Many of our students have friends that play on teams in the NEFC.”

With the addition of Plymouth State and Coast Guard, the NEFC will have 16 teams in two divisions. PSU will join the Boyd Division, which includes Curry, Endicott, UMass Dartmouth, MIT, Nichols, Salve Regina and Western New England. Coast Guard will be in the Bogan Division along with Bridgewater State, Fitchburg State, Framingham State, Maine Maritime, Mass. Maritime, Westfield State and Worcester State.

The NEFC regular season schedule will include one game against each member of its own division and one contest against a team in the other division. PSU and Coast Guard will play each other in the cross over game in 2006 and 2007.

The NEFC concludes its regular season schedule with a championship game between the first-place teams from each division. The winner of that game receives an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Championship Tournament.

— 30 —