Plymouth State University Names Ann E. Thurston the 2011 Patricia Storer Award Recipient

November 10th, 2011 by blyndes

Plymouth, N.H.– A longtime employee and proud alumna of Plymouth State University is the 2011 Patricia Storer Award recipient. Ann Thurston of Rumney was chosen for her ongoing commitment and service to PSU. The Patricia Storer Award was established in 2008 to honor a Plymouth State employee who exemplifies dedication, knowledge and respect in serving the students, staff and faculty at Plymouth State University. Storer was a longtime Plymouth State employee who, during her career, served in a variety of roles, including faculty member in the education department, dean of women students, associate dean of academic affairs, and registrar. Thurston said she is honored to receive an award named for a woman she greatly respects.

Left to right, PSU President Sara Jayne Steen, 2011 Storer Award recipient Ann Thurston and PAT Speaker Diane Jeffrey

“Pat Storer’s legacy gives professional staff a great deal to live up to,” said Thurston. “We are fortunate to have such a role model.”

Ann Thurston has held multiple roles on the Plymouth State campus – from an entry-level position at the library, to manager of campus services, then bursar and her current position of Associate Vice President for Academic Administration and Finance. PSU’s Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs, Dr. Julie Bernier, said Ann Thurston’s dedication to Plymouth State is unparalleled.

“I cannot think of a more worthy individual for this award than Ann Thurston,” said Bernier. “I am particularly pleased for Ann to receive this honor, because of the great respect and admiration she had for Pat Storer.  It is a wonderfully deserved award.”

Throughout her 30 years of service to PSU, Ann has worked alongside her peers serving in leadership roles such as Speaker of the Professional, Administrative and Technical (PAT) group (twice), chair of the Enrollment Management Committee, the Planning, Budgeting Leadership Group, Research Advisory Council, Alumni Grants Committee and the Saul O Sidore Lecture Series Committee. Additionally, Ann holds membership in New Hampshire Women in Higher Education Leadership, National Council of University Research Administrators, Eastern Association of College and University Business Officers and the Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society.

Ann has previously been honored by her peers with the 2003 Distinguished PAT Award, The Todd Trevorrow Service Award and the James J. Hogan Memorial Award for her support of PSU Athletics.  She holds BA, MBA and CAGS degrees from Plymouth State.