PSC Students and Faculty Inducted into Honor Society

March 21st, 2001 by Adam

Marcia Santore

March 30, 2001

Plymouth State College will induct its first members into the Alpha Iota Lambda chapter of the Phi Alpha Theta history honor society in the Heritage Commons at 1 p.m. on Tuesday, April 10, 2001. Phi Alpha Theta promotes the study of history by encouraging research, good teaching, publication and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians.

To join Alpha Iota Lambda, a student must have taken 12 credits of history at Plymouth State with a 3.1 GPA in history and a 3.0 overall GPA. Membership is not limited to history majors or minors. PSC’s student members attend conventions and professional conferences, participate in local and regional chapter activities, and become eligible for a variety of academic awards and scholarships.
Plymouth State’s first student members are:

Ralph J. Beaman Waterville Valley, N.H.

Nicholas K. Bellows Rochester, N.H.

Melissa A. Cote Merrimack, N.H.

Michael J. Cowles Rochester, N.H.

Sarah W. Crisman Nashua, N.H.

Andrew L. Dorsett Ashland, N.H.

Robert S. Gilmore Bristol, N.H.

Scott A. Kennedy West Lebanon, N.H.

Catherine R. Inman Webster, N.H.

Jenny E. Mellecker Wiscasset, Maine

Penny V. McDowell Wolfeboro, N.H.

Eric K. McKinnon Colebrook, N.H.

Karl R. Olson Penacook, N.H.

Daniel P. O’Neil Center Conway, N.H.

Jason R. Paige Sutton Mills, N.H.

Brian A. Silvernale Merrimack, N.H.

Christopher Warn Campton, N.H.

Bret D. Yarrison Rochester, N.H.

The College will also be inducting two faculty members in history, Associate Professor Horst Freyhofer, whose specialty is central and eastern European history, and Assistant Professor Eleanor Congdon, director of the Medieval Forum, into this society, which promotes and assists historical research and publication. The society recognizes more than 1,850 chapters in 50 states, more than any other accredited four-year college honor society.

“I’m very pleased that our outstanding history students will have the opportunity to receive the recognition they deserve,” said President Donald P. Wharton.
For more information, contact Dr. David Flaten, assistant professor of history at Plymouth State College at (603) 535-2497.
# # #