PSU Athletics announces Panther Award recipients

May 10th, 2005 by Adam

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University athletic department handed out the annual Panther Awards Monday evening in a ceremony hosted by President Donald P. Wharton.

PSU athletic teams present a Panther Award to the individual in each sport who best represents Plymouth State on and off the field, with each of the teams setting its own specific criteria for the award.

In addition, the senior student-athletes presented Dr. Wharton with a Panther Award from the department for his support of intercollegiate athletics.

“I congratulate you on your accomplishments, both individually and as a team,” Wharton told the group of over 200 student-athletes.  “You are a wonderful group which has represented the University with pride, and make us all proud.  I am honored to recognize your achievements, and thank you for what you all bring to Plymouth State University.”

The following are the 2004-05 Panther Award recipients:

Sport                                     Name                               Class.            Hometown
Baseball                                 Derek Guimond                  Sr.               Lewiston, Maine
Men’s Basketball                   Nick Pelotte                        Sr.               Bingham, Maine
Women’s Basketball             Lauren Devereaux              Sr.               Hope Valley, R.I.
Cheerleading                         Sue Lanctot                        Jr.                Berlin, N.H.
Field Hockey                          Annie Metz                          Sr.               Chelmsford, Mass.
Football                                  Vaughn Beckwith                Sr.               Canaan, Maine
Men’s Ice Hockey                  Jay Londer                          So.              Philadelphia, Pa.
Women’s Ice Hockey            Angela Potvin                      Jr.                Augusta, Maine
Men’s Lacrosse                     Steve Skinner                     Sr.               Hingham, Mass.
Women’s Lacrosse               Amanda Spadafora            So.              Saratoga Springs, N.Y.
Men’s Skiing                          Joey Miller                           Sr.               Auburn, Maine
Women’s Skiing                    Kelsey Real                        Jr.                Lanesboro, Mass.
Men’s Soccer                        Jayson Smith                      Sr.               Northwood, N.H.
Women’s Soccer                  Kelsey MacDonald             So.              Oak Bluffs, Mass.
Softball                                   Kim Jeffs                            Sr.               Stoughton, Mass.
Women’s Swimming/Diving  Cait Anton                           So.              Woolwich, Maine
Women’s Tennis                   Whitney O’Leary                 Jr.                Sagamore Beach, Mass.
Volleyball                                Team
Wrestling                               Nate Kittredge                     Sr.               Vergennes, Vt.

— 30 —