PSU Athletics honors two local coaches with prestigious Walter L. Murphy Award

February 21st, 2007 by Adam

PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Plymouth State University athletic department has recognized two area coaches for their dedication to their profession, presenting them with the prestigious Walter L. Murphy Coaches Award.

PSU has given the Walter L. Murphy Coaches Award since 1992, recognizing outstanding leadership and dedication as a teacher, motivator and mentor. The award is named after Plymouth State’s first head football coach (1970-71) who went on to become Chief Justice of the New Hampshire State Superior Court.

The two recent recipients are Thomas Pabst, fourth-year assistant football coach at PSU and former high school coach at Franklin High School for over two decades, and Jonathan Bownes, defensive coordinator/assistant head football coach at Plymouth Regional High School since 1984.

The two were honored in a ceremony that included current PSU head football coach Paul Castonia.

Coach Pabst, who owns a family business, coached high school athletics at Franklin High School for 23 years, including stints as varsity baseball, varsity football and girls varsity basketball. He joined the Panthers football staff under Coach Castonia in 2003. One of his Coach Pabst’s two daughters, Kellie, is a sophomore at Plymouth State and a student assistant coach for the Panthers women’s basketball team.

Coach Bownes, who received his undergraduate degree in Elementary Education from Plymouth State in 1991 and his Masters in Educational Leadership in 2002, is the principal at Thornton Central School. He has been with the PRHS football program since 1984, helping guide the team to a 195-35 record with 11 state championships and eight undefeated seasons. Coach Bownes also coached middle school basketball for 18 years, and spent seven years as a Plymouth Cal Ripken baseball coach.

Previous recipients of the Walter L. Murphy Coaches Award include Walter L. Murphy (1992), Charles Lenahan (1993), Skip Capone (1994), Gary Emanuel (1995), Ted Moccia (1996), Jay Cottone (1997), Charles Currier (1998), Don Brown (1999), Steve Tirrell (2000), Christopher Clarke (2001), Lou Desloges (2002), Jay Foster (2003), and Nick Vailas (2004).

Photo Cutline: PSU Head Football Coach Paul Castonia (far right) presents the prestigious Walter L. Murphy Coaches Award to Thomas Pabst (left) and Jonathan Bownes (middle).

— 30 —