PSU Honors Business Leader Wally Stevens and MBA Graduates at Annual Luncheon

May 14th, 2011 by Adam

Plymouth State University’s MBA graduates received a variety of awards at the Master of Business Administration Certificate and Honors Luncheon May 14. The guest of honor at the luncheon was Wally Stevens, a Plymouth State alum and chairman of the PSU President’s Council. Stevens received PSU’s Award for Excellence in Business Leadership and Citizenship and was also inducted as an honorary member of the Delta Mu Delta honor society.

Wally Stevens accepts PSU Award for Excellence in Business Leadership and Citizenship
From left to right, Wally Stevens, recipient of the Plymouth State University Award for Excellence in Business Leadership and Citizenship, Trent Boggess, Dean of PSU’s College of Business Administration and PSU President Dr. Sara Jayne Steen.

Stevens has had a long and successful career in the fisheries industry, recently retiring as President of Slade Gorton & Co., Inc. in Boston, Mass, one of the largest seafood marketing and distribution companies in the United States. Previously, he was president of Ocean Products Inc., a salmon aquaculture business in Maine, preceded by 17 years at Booth Fisheries serving in many capacities and at many locations around the country. He is a past chairman of the National Fisheries Institute, the seafood industries trade association. He is also President of the American Seafood Distributors Association, which is currently active in the defense of free trade programs for seafood products. In his remarks to the gathering, Stevens discussed his own experiences in the business world and emphasized major changes are underway in the global economy, and business people need to be ready to change how they view their jobs and their opportunities.

“Their work environment is going to be global,” Stevens said. “There are major changes in the global economy that are going to influence trade, business and education like we’ve never seen before. In the seafood industry, China has gone from being a major exporter of seafood to the U.S. being a major importer; Southeast Asia will no longer be our breadbasket. We need to figure out how to collaborate on an international basis. If these graduates thought they were going to start a business in New Hampshire, it is unlikely their whole careers will be spent here.”

In addition to Stevens, 14 graduates became the newest members of Delta Mu Delta: Karen House, Jennifer Johnson, Edward Lazdowski, Robert Leda, Pardaman Mann
R. Michael Mayo, Richard Meng, Victor Moturi, Lori Smith, Krishnaraj Subbiah, Judy Stabolepszy, Scott Troy, Carlene Whitcomb and Lori Wright.

Delta Mu Delta is a national honor society designed to recognize and reward business administration students who have distinguished themselves scholastically. Delta Mu Delta candidates must be in the top 20 percent of their class and have a grade point average of 3.25 or above.

31 graduates received MBA certificates:

Christopher Buelvas, Nicole Anne Chase, Marcus Ryan Erving, Ralph Ellis Estey Jr., Joseph Paul Foti Jr., Rachael Kristin Francis, Michelle Fuller, Karen P. House, Ashley Erin Hull-Guy, Christine Harvey, Brian Leslie Johnson, Jennifer Titus Johnson, Daniel Woodcock Kietzman, Kristine Angela Klinger, Edward Paul Lazdowski, Robert Patrick Leda, Andi Lushaj, Carol Main, Aswin Mathew, R. Michael Mayo, Victor Nyangoka Moturi, Samantha Moy, Amy Nichols, Christopher Walter Pong, Andrew Schell, Lori Karleen Smith, Linda Soriano, Patricia Louise Sowa, Ryan Thompson-Dunleavy, Amanda Tower and Simon Zaman.

Students also received awards for their work with PSU’s Small Business Institute®, which provides valuable consulting services to small business owners throughout New Hampshire under the leadership of advisor Craig Zamzow.

National SBI Award recipients include:

  • Second Place Business Plan or Feasibility Case of the Year 2010-11 Enterprise Center of Plymouth: team member Barbara Robinson, advisor Craig Zamzow.

    SBI Plymouth Award recipients include:

  • Second Place Outstanding Specialized Case of the Year 2010-11 Lakes Region Chiropractic (WonderDoc): team members, Cyndy Mongeon, Justin Scopetto, Justin Leever, advisor, Craig Zamzow.

  • Best Specialized Project of the Year 2010-11
    Mill Fudge Factory: team members, Robert Leda, Samuel Paul, Kristine Klinger and Noah Munro, advisor Craig Zamzow.

  • Best Comprehensive Project of the Year 2010-11
    Dartmouth Skiway: team members Patrice MacNevin, Judy Stabolepszy and Jennifer Johnson, advisor Craig Zamzow.

The Timothy Sabol Memorial Fund Scholarship winners were Emily Quigley and Tapi Nhundu, who both receive a $2,000 scholarship. The scholarship is awarded to deserving MBA students in memory of the late Tim Sabol, who earned his MBA at PSU while suffering a debilitating illness.

For more information about this release, contact Bruce Lyndes, PSU Media Relations Mgr., (603) 535-2775 or