The Sound of Music

January 26th, 2001 by Adam

Betsy Cheney

January 16, 2000

The Sound of Music Brings Magical Moments to the Plymouth State College

ETC homepage
PLYMOUTH, N.H. – The Educational Theatre Collaborative (ETC) at Plymouth State College presents The Sound of Music Jan. 24 through 28 at the Silver Cultural Arts Center.

Based on the true-life story of the von Trapps, an Austrian family that fled their homeland following the Nazi Anschluss of World War II and found haven in
America, the original production of The Sound of Music came to the stage in 1959. The Broadway musical, which starred Mary Martin and Theodore Bikel, ran for 1,443 performances and earned seven Tony Awards, including Best Musical. The original cast album earned a Gold Record and the Grammy Award. In 1965 the motion picture version of The Sound of Music was released, and made Hollywood history. Winner of five Academy Awards, including Best Picture, The Sound of Music is reputed to be the most popular movie musical ever made.

The ETC production of The Sound of Music brings many familiar faces to the PSC stage, including three members of a Plymouth family, Lauren, Tim and Ryan Keefe, who are veteran ETC performers. Lauren, a junior music major at PSC portrays Maria; Tim, PSC’s associate dean of student affairs portrays Max; and Ryan, a Plymouth Area High School student, is in the company. Other lead roles include Paul Bacon of Pembroke as Captain von Trapp, Whitney Smith, a senior theatre arts major from Concord as Elsa, Plymouth Police Chief Tony Raymond as Admiral von Schreiber and Christopher Doyle, a first year PSC theatre major from Salem N.H. as Rolf. Also Gisela Estes of Plymouth as Fraulein Schweiger, Gary Goodnough of Plymouth as Herr Zeller, and Dianne Guenther of Plymouth as Sister Sophia. Eva Nagorka, well-known area mezzo-soprano will sing the role of the Mother Abbess.
The von Trapp children are played by Carrie Constant of Tilton, Kai deMello-Folsom of Sanbornton, Claire McCahan, Katie O’Connor and Sara Richelson of Plymouth, Gabrielle Scibetta of Thornton and Alison Therriault of Campton.
ETC is a joint venture of Plymouth State College, Plymouth Elementary School, and Friends of the Arts. This year’s production, the seventh for ETC, includes an intergenerational cast of more than 70 community members , elementary school and college students, and PSC faculty and staff from 14 area towns.

The co-founder and artistic director of ETC is Dr. Trish Lindberg, associate professor of education and director of the M.Ed. in Integrated Arts at Plymouth State. Lindberg received the 1999 Governor’s Arts and Education Award from the N.H. State Council on the Arts. Michelle Fistek, professor of political science, is co-producer and managing director of ETC. PSC lecturer Ryan Turner is music director for The Sound of Music and dance lecturer Carole Ann Morrison is choreographer. Dan Perkins, PSC associate professor of music and co-founder of ETC, is providing publicity assistance.

The entire ETC production happens with just under four weeks rehearsal time. “It’s a matter of teamwork, trust, and hard work, and a great deal of dedication from performers, their families, and a network of volunteers” according to Lindberg. “ETC would not exist without the incredible collaboration of many, many individuals from the college and the community working together on this magical artistic endeavor,” she says.

A family preview performance of The Sound of Music will be held at 7 p.m., Wednesday, Jan. 24. General performances are Thursday through Saturday at 7 p.m.; Saturday and Sunday at 2 p.m. Tickets are $8 – $12 at the Silver Cultural Arts Center Box Office, (603-535-ARTS) Monday through Friday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. If special accommodations are needed for people with disabilities, please call in advance.