You can share your email, address book, calendar, tasks, and briefcase folders with others in your organization, external guests, and the public. Right-click a folder and in the dialog that appears specify the type of access permissions to give the Grantee. You can share with internal users who can be given complete manager access to the folder, external guests that must use a password to view the folder content, and public access so that anyone who has the URL can view the content of the folder.
When internal users share a folder, a copy of the shared folder is put in the Grantee’s folder list on the Overview pane. When the folder is selected, the content displays in the Content pane.
See Managing Items You Can Share for additional sharing options.
Granting access to your folders
You can share folders with internal users or groups, external guests and the public.
Internal users or groups
You can share with others in your group or company. When you share with internal users or groups, you enter the email addresses and select the type of access to grant, either:
- Viewer. The Grantee can view the content in the folder but cannot change the content.
- Manager. The Grantee has permissions to view, edit, remove content, accept and decline calendar invitations or requests to share other folders.
- Admin. The Grantee has full permission to manage the folder, including view, edit, and remove content; accept and decline invitations, share your folder with other people or groups, or revoke access to a shared folder.
- None. This is an option to temporarily disable access to a grantor’s shared folder without revoking the share privileges. The Grantee still has the folder in their list but cannot view or manage activities in the folder.
You can share external guests that must use a password to view the folder content. External guides cannot make changes to your folder. You create the password
Anyone who knows the URL to the folder can view the folder content. The public cannot make any changes to the folder. When you select to share with Public, the URL for that displays in the Share Properties dialog is made accessible to the public.
Revoking access to shared folders
You can edit the access rights and revoke permissions at any time from the folder’s Edit Properties page or from the Preferences, Sharing folder.
Accessing a folder shared with you
When a folder is shared with you, you receive an email notification. When you select Accept in the email, the folder link is added to the Overview pane in your mailbox. When you click on the folder, you can see the contents of the Grantor’s folder.
You can also click Find Shares in the Overview pane to quickly find and add folders that have been shared with you. When the Add Share Folder dialog opens, items that have been shared with you through distribution lists are listed. In theFind Shares field, you can enter an email address to see if an item was shared with you from a specific address.