About

Named for humanitarian and New Hampshire businessman Saul O Sidore, the Sidore Lecture Series was established in 1979 by PSU and the Sidore Memorial Foundation. The series brings a variety of speakers to campus to address critical issues and events in politics, society, and culture, topics that reflect Sidore’s interests.

A first-generation American, Sidore was born in New York City in 1907. After losing his job during the Great Depression, Sidore and his future wife May Blum joined her parents in founding the Juvenile Knitting Mills. The family’s enterprises moved to New Hampshire in 1940, and by 1955 Sidore was president of Brookshire Mills and Pandora Industries of Manchester.

Sidore’s business practices reflected his ethical principles and his interest in providing security for his employees. He pioneered a profit-sharing plan, instituted a pension plan, founded a scholarship loan fund to help his employees send their children to college, and he was the first employer in New Hampshire to hire an industrial psychologist and institute insured hospitalization benefits for employees. Sidore, who encouraged employees of all levels to participate in business decisions, created a joint committee of executives and employees to discuss their issues, and held quarterly meetings with all employees to discuss the company and its future.

Sidore was the owner of the Manchester Free Press, a member of the New Hampshire Advisory Committee to the United States Commission on Civil Rights, active in Manchester’s Jewish community, and was a driving force in support of the ideals of humanity and brotherhood throughout New Hampshire.

PSU Sidore Committee

Filiz Ruhm
Committee Co-Chair
foruhm@plymouth.edu

Metasebia Woldemariam
Committee Co-Chair
mwoldemariam@plymouth.edu

Lisa Doner
Committee Member
ladoner@plymouth.edu  

Nic Helms
Committee Member  
nrhelms@plymouth.edu  

Kristen Hersom
Committee Member
kahersom@plymouth.edu  

Cassidy Keyser
Student Committee Member
cjkeyser@plymouth.edu  

Gene Martin 
Committee Member 
epmartin@plymouth.edu  

Laura Tilghman
Committee Member
lmtilghman@plymouth.edu